Awards & Raffle Winners

Every year at the fall convention the SDTA likes to acknowledge a handful of special people. These are people nominated to the Directors for their efforts, hard work and dedication to trapping.

Nominations will be accepted starting 1 August normally and the Directors vote on our annual award winners just prior to the Fall convention in September.

To nominate anyone all you need to do is contact a director and provide a short reason why you think this person is the one deserving of this award.


Acknowledgements & Awards 2022

The Koffler Award:


The Koffler Award is awarded to an individual for their total dedication to the betterment of trapping. It is a once in a lifetime award and our highest award.


Lee Baldwin Award (Formally the Benefactor of the Year Award) Winner: Paul Kuhlman


John Hopple awarding the Lee Baldwin Award

(Accepting on Mr. Kuhlman's behalf: Craig Parkhurst)

The Lee Baldwin Award is awarded to any business, organization or person who has either financially or otherwise supported the SDTA above and beyond normal support. Usually a program or activity was funded or service provided that would not have been possible without their support


Most Improved Youth Trapper: Tance Spring


The Most Improved Youth Award is awarded to a youth (under 16) who has demonstrated the most improvement in either trapping or fur handling.


Volunteer of the Year: The Lien Family: Nick, Trina, Jasper, Trent, Jolie & Triggvie

The Volunteer of the Year award is open to any SDTA member who has contributed to the success of the SDTA over the course of the year. Either a one time event such as set up/clean of the convention or all year such as helping with billboards.
Woman of the year: Lynda Graf


Being named Woman of the Year is open to any woman who either traps or supports her spouse/relative in their trapping activities or SDTA involvement. 

SDTA Scholarship Award Winner!

Congratulations Trent Lien, he is the $500 scholarship recipient for 2022.

To see the rules and apply for the SDTA Scholarship click HERE.

SDTA Frying Pan Toss Winners!

Youth Division
1st - Quincy Harper
2nd - Gage Whitehead
3rd - Ruger Spring
Women's Division
1st - Corrina Hart
2nd - Rita Frank
3rd - Lynda Graf

We also LOVE to give some lucky folks prizes!!! At our fall convention we have a variety of grubstake draws, gun draws, our annual 10 prize Sportsman's Raffle!

Many of these prizes are donated to us by our vendors and sponsors. Please take the chance to thank them and patronize their web sites or booths at our conventions.


Raffle Winners 2022

Sportsman's Raffle Winners:

1. Henry Lever Rifle: Eric Sichmeller
2. Mauser .22: Robert Hanson
3. Chiappa .22 revolver: Bill Shope
4. Four-man tent: Eric Sichmeller
5. LEM Meat Slicer: Alva Wiley
6. Wildlife Print: Georgia Sichmeller
7. 12-pack Mallard Dekes: Alva Wiley
8. Game Bag: Adam Imberi
9. Tackle Box: Eric Feldhouse
10. Buck Knife: Dale Boerner



Women’s: Laura Ericson
Grubstake #1: Charlie Bode
Grubstake #2: Justin Whitehead
Grubstake #3: Harlan Heitz
Kid’s Grubstake: Quincy Harper

Board Guns:

Youth Henry: Lyle Geigle (Davis Werner)
.410 O/U: Luke Andrew

Trout Unlimited: Ann Scheels